SUNScholar/Repository Information

From Libopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Back to Guidelines

DSpace Repository Support

https://wiki.duraspace.org/display/DSPACE/Support

African Support

This is a discussion list to discuss, communicate, share information on all open access and institutional repositories related issues in Africa and South Africa.

International Open Access Discussion

http://mailman.ecs.soton.ac.uk/mailman/listinfo/goal

The Global Open Access List (GOAL) is the successor of the American Scientist Open Access (AmSci) Forum, which was the first Open Access Forum, begun in 1998 and hosted for 13 years (1998-2011) by Sigma Xi. http://amsci-forum.amsci.org/archives/American-Scientist-Open-Access-Forum.html

Open Access is no longer just an American or a Scientific Matter. It is a global movement with the goal of making all 2.5 million articles published annually in the planet's 25,000 peer-reviewed journals -- in all scholarly and scientific fields, and in all languages -- freely accessible online to anyone on the Web.

GOAL is accordingly dedicated to the discussion of Open Access practice and policy-making by the worldwide research community (in no order: researchers, universities, research institutions, research funding agencies, governmental research policy-makers and commercial entities) with the aim of enabling concrete, practical steps to be taken to achieve Open Access. Chief among these goals are techniques for increasing the amount of Open Access, as well as metrics of research usage and impact.

Service Providers

South African

International

Experts Directories

For Repository Strategic Management

Name Institution Contact
Dr Leti Kleyn UP leti.kleyn@up.ac.za
Ina Smith ASSAf ina@assaf.org.za
Lazarus Matizirofa NRF lazarus.matizirofa@nrf.ac.za
Andrew Mwesigwa Makerere University amwesigwa@mulib.mak.ac.ug
Bravismore Mumanyi University of Namibia bravismore@unam.na
Charlie Maphuntshane Molepo University of the Free State MolepoCM@ufs.ac.za
Wouter Klapwijk Stellenbosch University wklap@sun.ac.za
Makaba Macanda University of Johannesburg makabam@uj.ac.za
Suzette Oosthuizen University of Fort Hare SOosthuizen@ufh.ac.za

For Repository Operational Management

Name Institution Contact
Tlou Mathiba University of Pretoria tlou.mathiba@up.ac.za
Allison Fullard University of the Western Cape afullard@uwc.ac.za
Denise Nicholson University of the Witwatersrand denise.nicholson@wits.ac.za
Ansie van der Westhuizen University of South Africa Watkiapj@unisa.ac.za
Kataila Ramalibana NRF Kataila.ramalibana@nrf.ac.za
Paulette Talliard Stellenbosch University plt@sun.ac.za
Ricardo Davids UWC rddavids@uwc.ac.za
Mimi Seyffert Stellenbosch University mseyf@sun.ac.za

For Repository Systems Programmers

Name Institution Contact
Alan Orth Private alan.orth@gmail.com
Shaun Donovan Private shaund@teqcle.co.za
Lighton Phiri Private lighton.phiri@gmail.com
Darryn Francesco Private darryn.francesco@gmail.com
Thato Mahlatji Private t.tmahlatji@gmail.com

For Repository Systems Administrators

Name Institution Contact
Hilton Gibson Stellenbosch University hilton.gibson@gmail.com
Cornelle van Wyk University of the Free State cornelle@ufs.ac.za
Lewatle Phaladi Unversity of the Witwatersrand Lewatle.Phaladi@wits.ac.za
Barrie Swanepoel University of Johannesburg barries@uj.ac.za
Sean Carte Private sean.carte@gmail.com
Solomon Kapfunde University of the Western Cape skapfunde@uwc.ac.za
Sakhi Louw University of the Western Cape selouw@uwc.ac.za
Herbert K. Nguruwe Cape Peninsula University of Technology nguruweh@cput.ac.za
Daniel Deogratus Private ddeogratus@gmail.com
Solomon Mekonnen Private solomon3m@yahoo.com
Vimal Kumar Mahatma Gandhi University Library vimal0212@gmail.com
Nico Lambrechts University of Fort Hare nlambrechts@ufh.ac.za

Research

http://wiredspace.wits.ac.za/handle/10539/18398
http://www.openaccesspublishing.org
http://www.icsti.org

Journals

Below is a list of journals doing research on scholarly communication.

Some of the very ripe areas for research are:

  1. Costs of scholarly communication publication (commercial and academic).
  2. Open scholarly communication sustainability (the "forever" problem).
  3. Self-hosted open scholarly communication systems.
  4. Librarian open scholarly communication competencies.
Open Access
http://www.journalofelectronicpublishing.org
http://jlsc-pub.org
https://journals.ala.org/ltr
http://ejournals.bc.edu/ojs/index.php/ital/index
http://sajlis.journals.ac.za
http://www.ejisdc.org
http://bd.org.tr/index.php/bd
http://ejournals.library.ualberta.ca/index.php/EBLIP
http://leo.cineca.it/index.php/jlis
http://ijism.ricest.ac.ir/index.php/ijism
http://www.libraryinnovation.org/index
http://www.informationr.net/ir/index.html
http://journalofia.org
http://journal.code4lib.org
http://www.src-online.ca
Closed Access
http://lis.sagepub.com

Cloud Providers

If you presently do not have the technical infrastructure and expertise to host your own repository on campus, then have a look at a hosted cloud solution.

WARNING

  • If you choose or have chosen this route, then check very carefully, the service contract to ensure that you can export your digital assets and associated metadata, at any time, even if you have failed to meet any financial obligations for the contracted service.
  • It is always better to have possession of your own digital files (bitstreams) on a server on your campus, and therefore be able to control your own costs, rather than be at the mercy of a cloud provider.
  • The continued use of a cloud service may result in a "repository cloud hosting crisis" the same as the "serials bundle crisis".
http://www.openrepository.com
http://dspacedirect.org
http://www.eprints.org/services
http://www.bepress.com

Repository Examples

Below are links to repositories that have started to take a system approach to repository management by supplying a help wiki and a news blog. In addition they have short clean memorable URL's. Unfortunately policies have yet to be published.

Below are links to repositories used for digital collections.

Contacts for Stellenbosch Systems

  • For open access advocacy and repository content management , please contact:
Mimi Seyffert: mseyf@sun.ac.za
  • For repository preservation, repository interoperability and digitisation management, please contact:
Wouter Klapwijk: wklap@sun.ac.za
  • For repository systems management and errors/omissions/improvements regarding this wiki guide, please contact:
Hilton Gibson: hilton.gibson@gmail.com

Stellenbosch University Library Systems

The guidelines were used to build the following systems:

List of academic repositories in South Africa using DSpace

Advanced Reporting Tools

** The Self-Hosting Value Proposition **

Click on the heading above.

Organisations

Support of scholarly communication is becoming more formalised.

Below are links to some examples of organisations.